Skip to main content
waffle.svg
Domo Knowledge Base

Creating and Managing User Groups

Version 15

 

Intro

In the Admin Settings, you can create and manage groups of Domo users. Groups are useful because you can grant access to specified content to all members of a group. For example, you might create a "Marketing" group whose members have access to marketing-related cards. Or, you could create a "Financial" group with access to cards from various departments.

You can create and delete groups, add and remove members, or change the name of a group. This topic discusses all of these tasks in turn.

You can edit, delete, or add and remove members only from groups you have access to unless you have an "Admin" default security role or a custom role with "Manage All Groups" enabled. For more information about default roles, see Default Security Role Reference. For more information about custom roles, see Managing Custom Roles.

Note: When you enable SSO, two different type of groups are created—Ad Hoc groups and Directory groups. Ad Hoc groups are created within your Domo instance, while Directory groups are created within your IDP. Directory groups must be managed from within your SSO provider's website. 

Creating a group

You can create a new group in the Groups tab in the Admin Settings. After you create a group, you can add users to the group and specify what content (cards and pages) is accessible by the members of this group.

To create a group,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Select Groups.
    A list of groups appears, with the topmost group in the list selected by default.

  3. Click Add New Group, located at the bottom of the group list panel.

    Tip: You can also open this dialog from anywhere in Domo by selecting in the app toolbar and selecting People > Group.
  4. Enter a name for the new group.

  5. Click Add New Group or press Enter.
    Basic information for the new group appears in the rightmost panel, including the group name and your profile picture (because you created the group). At this point, the group contains no other members and is not able to access any cards or pages—you must add members and accessible content to the group. For information about adding members to a group, see the next section. For information about adding content to a group, see Adding and Removing Accessible Content for a Group.

Adding members to a group

In the Admin Settings, you can add members to an existing group, meaning that those users have access to all pages and cards assigned to that group. You can do this in the following ways:

  • You can add users to the group (in the Groups tab of the Admin Settings), or

  • You can assign existing groups to the list of groups of which a user is a member (in the People tab of the Admin Settings).

Users added to a group gain access to all past Buzz conversations for that group. For more information, see Chatting in Buzz.

To add users to a group,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Select Groups.
    A list of groups appears, with the topmost group in the list selected by default.

  3. Select the group that you want to add users to.
    The information for this group appears in the right-side pane.

  4. Click Add People to this Group.

  5. Enter the name of a user into the field.
    The top results for your search appear automatically in a list as you enter characters and filter accordingly as you add or remove characters.

  6. Select the name of a user from the list.
    The name of the user appears in the field.

  7. (Optional) Add additional users to this group by repeating the previous two steps.

  8. (Optional) Remove a user from the field by clicking the "x" to the right of that user's name.

  9. Click Add to add all users whose names appear in the field into the group.

The added users have access to the cards and pages assigned to the group.

To assign a group membership to a specific user,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Select People.

  3. In the user list, select the user for whom you want to assign a group membership.
    The information panel for the user appears.

  4. Click Add Group.



    A field appears in which you can search for existing groups in Domo.

  5. Enter the name of a group into the field.
    The top results of your search appear automatically in a list as you enter characters and filter accordingly as you add or remove characters.

  6. Select a group from the list.
    The name of the group appears in the field.

  7. (Optional) Add additional group memberships to this user by repeating the previous two steps.

  8. (Optional) Remove a group name from the field by clicking the "x" to the right of the name.

  9. Click Add to add all groups appearing in the field into the user's group membership listing.

The user now belongs to the added groups and has access to the cards and pages assigned to the groups.

Removing users from a group

When you remove users from a user group, they can no longer access content for that group (unless they are members of another group with access OR they have been granted access to the same content in the People tab). You can remove a user from a group by doing either of the following:

  • Removing the user from the group (in the Group tab of the Admin Settings)

  • Removing the group from the user's group membership listing (in the People tab of the Admin Settings)

Users removed from a group lose access to all past Buzz conversations for that group. For more information, see Chatting in Buzz.

To remove a user from a group,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Select Groups.
    A list of groups appears, with the topmost group in the list selected by default.

  3. Select the group you want to remove a member from.
    The information for the group appears in the right-side pane.

  4. Mouse over the profile picture of the member you want to remove.
    A red "x" appears near the profile picture.

  5. Click the red "x" to delete the user from the group.

To remove a group from a user's group membership listing,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Select People.

  3. In the user list, select the user from whom you want to remove a group membership.
    The information for the user appears in the rightmost panel.

  4. Click Remove for the group you want to remove in the Group Memberships list.
    A confirmation dialog appears.

  5. Click Remove to confirm.

Removing user groups from Domo

You can remove user groups from Domo in the Admin Settings.

To remove a group from Domo,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Expand the People section in the navigation panel on the left, then click Groups.
    A list of groups appears, with the topmost group in the list selected by default.

  3. Select the group you want to remove.
    The group information appears in the pane on the right.

  4. Click Delete this group, located at the bottom of the group information panel.

  5. Click Delete to confirm the decision.

The group is removed, and any users who were in this group are no longer able to access content that was accessible by the group's members (unless they are members of another group with access to the same content OR they have been granted access to the same content in the People tab).

Changing the name of a group

You can change the name of a user group in the Admin Settings.

To change the name of a group,

  1. Click More > Admin.
    The Admin Settings appears.

  2. Select Groups.
    A list of groups appears, with the topmost group in the list selected by default.

  3. Click the group whose name you want to change.
    The information for the group appears in the right-side pane.

  4. Click Edit Group Name, in the top-right corner of the pane.

  5. Enter the new name for the group.

  6. Click Save.