Skip to main content
waffle.svg
Domo Knowledge Base

Duplicating Dashboards ("Save As")

Version 9

 

Intro

When using the Dashboard Save As feature, you have two options on how to handle the Cards on the Dashboard. The first option is to use the Save As feature on a Dashboard to duplicate any Dashboard in Domo you have access to, along with all of its Cards. In other words, a copy of the Dashboard and its contents is created that has a new name and is completely independent of the original Dashboard. Any changes you make to the new Dashboard or its Cards has no effect on the original Dashboard or Cards. This is the default behavior when using the Save As feature on a Dashboard.

The second option is to use the Save As feature on a Dashboard to duplicate any Dashboard in Domo you have access to, while using the original Cards from the Dashboard. In other words, a copy of the Dashboard is created that has a new name and uses the same Cards of the original Dashboard. Any changes you make to the new Dashboard has no effect on the original Dashboard, however any changes you make to the Cards will effect the Cards on the original Dashboard. In order to not duplicate the Cards on the Dashboard, you must uncheck the box that reads "Duplicate all Cards."

Any user with access to a Dashboard can duplicate it regardless of security role; however, only those elements the user has access to will be copied. So, for example, if a Dashboard contained Cards a certain user was not able to view due to lack of access rights, those Cards would not be copied into the new Dashboard. 

When you duplicate a Dashboard, the following elements in the Dashboard are duplicated:

This option does not copy the following elements from a Dashboard:

Video - "Save As" for Pages

 

To duplicate a Dashboard,

  1. Navigate to the Dashboard you want to duplicate.

  2. In the wrench menu in the top right corner of the screen, select Save As.
    A Save as new Dashboard dialog appears.

    Save As Modal.png

  3. (Optional) Enter a new name for the Dashboard in the New Dashboard title field.

  4. (Conditional) If you do not want to duplicate the Cards (so that the new Dashboard uses the original Cards) uncheck the box that reads "Duplicate all Cards."

    Note: The default behavior is the "Duplicate all Cards" box is checked.
  5. (Conditional) If you want to open the new Page after you save, check the box that reads "Go to new Page when done."

  6. Click Save.